Josef K  - The Only Fun In Town 2xLP black and gold View larger

Josef K - The Only Fun In Town 2xLP black and gold

New product

Side one is black vinyl and side two is gold. Limited to 500.

More details

This product is no longer in stock

£ 22.00

More info

Released February 15th 2019

Crepuscule presents a new limited coloured vinyl edition of The Only Fun In Town, the influential debut album by iconic Scottish guitar group Josef K, originally released on Postcard Records in July 1981.

500 copies only of TWI 052 have been pressed for release in 2019, with Disc 1 on black vinyl and Disc 2 on gold vinyl, matching the iconic sleeve artwork by Krysia Klasicki.

Speedily recorded in a small studio in Brussels, The Only Fun In Town was a defiantly abrasive, serrated long-player in the mould of the second Velvets album, Josef K having already shelved a more conventional recording. Sharp-edged pop singles abound – It’s Kinda Funny, Sorry For Laughing, Revelation – along with rattling Haig/Ross twin guitar classics such as Fun ‘n’ Frenzy, Heart of Song, Forever Drone and The Angle. 

The Only Fun In Town topped the independent charts on release and remains a canonical post-punk album. This new 2014 remaster comes housed in a handsome trifold digipack with 12 page booklet, and by way of a bonus also features all 12 tracks from Sorry For Laughing, the shelved debut album recorded at Castle Sound (Edinburgh) in November 1980, and apparently abandoned because it was thought to sound too polished. 

2xLP Tracklist:
1. Fun ‘n’ Frenzy
2. Revelation
3. Crazy To Exist
4. It’s Kinda Funny
5. The Angle
6. Forever Drone
7. Heart Of Song
8. 16 Years
9. Citizens
10. Sorry For Laughing
11. Radio Drill Time
12. Romance
13. Chance Meeting
14. Pictures
15. Final Request
16. The Missionary
17. Heaven Sent
18. Heart Of Song
19. Applebush